The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Entangling Gestures

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Transforming Political Gesture – G20

During the workshop, Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst and Irina Kaldrack worked on the performative installation “G20” with the support of Silas Mücke. In rehearsal processes and discussions, we developed a precise spatio-temporal dramaturgy interlinking video recordings, sound works, photo installations and performative lectures. The installation focuses on enabling imagination, various ways of thinking and different approaches to the question of protest, political gestures and capacity for action via overlays, supplementation, reinforcement and disruption. The exhibition was held on October 20 and 21 at the Leipzig Art Association. The lecture-performance took place on October 20.

Untitled installation

Laurie Young and Timo Herbst continued working on the form of ramps for the entry stairs of Bethanien´s Studio 1. It became clear that an inclination of 6° (usable incline for independent wheelchair) is impossible to construct in the landmarked architecture of Bethanien. Over several site visits, Young and Herbst built a life size model of 11 paper ramps following the natural incline of the stairs. Visual artist Jakob Argauer was invited to become part author of this work by considering different motifs or textural imprints to be applied on the ramps. The motif will be informed through Bethanien´s history of access through meetings with the architectural bureau who are currently preparing the renovation of the landmarked building.

Economies of Gesture

In the last workshop, the group deepened their investigation into musical.ly. The social media app musical.ly (renamed TikTok in 2018) allows users to record playback videos set to short pop song snippets or movie soundtracks that often include typical hand gestures.

Group members developed a score of political gestures titled “musical.ly gestures” that (wish to) raise the question of presence and the public sphere at the intersection of economy, prosumerdom, self-expression and forms of work.

Gesture and Labour

The Gesture and Labour project is in the final stage of specification, form-finding and production. Additional experimentation and investigation was performed into topics that turned out to be crucial during the working process within the previous workshops. 1) perception-threshold – The ambiguity inherent to bodily movements creates multi-layered narratives. There are certain points of equilibrium where this becomes prominent. 2) restructured movements – how far can a certain movement be freed from its sequential syntax without loosing its purpose within a working environment.
As to the its presentation, a combination of videos and drawing will be used. The juxtaposition of these divergent forms will allow to specifically stress the intersections and gaps of their syntax.

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

From April 24 to 28, 2017, the project participants met for the first workshop in Braunschweig. During several days of intensive collaboration, we presented our materials and methods, as well as preliminary research results, identified common interests on the basis of selected case studies and tested various methods to acquaint ourselves with them analytically.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage December 7th, 7.30 pm. Symposium December 8th, 10 am–7 pm.

The exhibition and the international symposium are the finale of a two-year interdisciplinary research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between gestures and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

Exhibition: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage 7 Dec 2018 – open daily 12 am – 8 pm– until 16 Dec 2018

A warm welcome to our exhibition „Throwing Gestures“ in Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Entangling Gestures

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Vom 4. bis 10. September 2018 trafen wir uns zum vierten und letzten Workshop im Kunstquartier Bethanien. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an unseren kollektiven und individuellen Installationen für die Ausstellung im Dezember.

Transforming Political Gesture – G20

Während des Workshops arbeiteten Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst und Irina Kaldrack mit Unterstützung von Silas Mücke an der performativen Installation „G20“. In Probenprozessen und Diskussionen erarbeiteten wir eine präzise räumliche und zeitliche Dramaturgie, die Videoaufnahmen, Soundarbeiten, Fotoinstallation und performativen Vortrag miteinander verschränkt. Es ging und geht darum, durch Überlagerung, Ergänzung, Verstärkung und Störung, Imaginationen, Denkräume und unterschiedliche Zugänge zu der Frage von Protest, politischer Geste und Handlungsfähigkeit zu ermöglichen. Die Ausstellung war am 20. und 21.10. im Kunstverein Leipzig zu sehen, die Lecture-Performance fand am 20.10. statt.

Untitled installation

Laurie Young und Timo Herbst führten ihre Arbeit an den Rampenformen für die Eingangsstufen des Studio 1 fort. Es hat sich herausgestellt, dass die denkmalgeschützte Architektur in Bethanien eine Steigung von 6° (selbstständig überwindbare Steigung für RollstuhlfahrerInnen) nicht gestattet. Während mehrerer Begehungen haben Young und Herbst lebensgroße Modelle aus 11 Papierrampen erstellt, die den Steigungen der Treppen angepasst waren. Der Bildende Künstler Jakob Argauer wurde eingeladen, verschiedene Motive und Texturaufdrucke für die Rampen zu erarbeiten und Miturheber der Arbeit zu werden. Die Motive werden dafür aus den verschiedene Stationen der Geschichte Bethaniens abgeleitet, die sich aus einem geplanetenTreffen mit dem Architekturbüro, das mit der Renovierung des denkmalgeschützten Gebäudes betraut ist, ergeben wird.

Economies of Gesture

Während des letzten Workshops vertiefte die Gruppe ihre Auseinandersetzung um musical.ly. Die social-media-app musical.ly (seit 2018 TikTok) erlaubt ihren NutzerInnen, zu kurzen Ausschnitten von Pop-Songs oder auch Film-Soundtracks Playback-Videos aufzunehmen, die oft typische Handgesten beinhalten.

Die Gruppenmitglieder arbeiten an einem Score politischer Gesten, die als „Musical.ly-Gesten“ die Frage nach Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit am Schnittpunkt von Ökonomie, Prosumer-Tum, Selbstdarstellung und Arbeitsformen stellen (wollen).

Gesture and Labour

Das Projekt Gesture and Labour befindet sich in seiner finalen Phase der Spezifikation, Formfindung und Produktion. Zusätzliche Experimente und Untersuchungen wurden an Themen durchgeführt, die sich während des Arbeitsprozesses in den vorherigen Workshops als entscheidend erwiesen. 1) Wahrnehmungsschwelle – Die Mehrdeutigkeit von Körperbewegungen erzeugt vielschichtige Narrative. An bestimmten Punkten des Gleichgewichts tritt dies besonders hervor. 2) restrukturierte Bewegungen – wie weit kann eine bestimmte Bewegung von ihrer sequentiellen Syntax befreit werden, ohne ihren Zweck in einer Arbeitsumgebung zu verlieren?

Das Projekt

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien.

(Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Mehr

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Vom 4. bis 10. September 2018 trafen wir uns zum vierten und letzten Workshop im Kunstquartier Bethanien. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an unseren kollektiven und individuellen Installationen für die Ausstellung im Dezember.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage 7. Dezember 2018, 19.30 Uhr. Symposium 8. Dezember 2018, 10–19 Uhr.

Zusammen mit der Ausstellung bildet das Symposium den Abschluss des interdisziplinären Forschungsprojektes, das nach den Verhältnissen zwischen Gesten und global vernetzten ubiquitären Technologien fragt.

Ausstellung: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage am 7. Dezember 2018 – Ausstellung ist täglich geöffnet, 12–20 Uhr – bis 16. Dezember 2018

Herzliche Einladung zur Ausstellung „Throwing Gestures“ im Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

Ausstellung: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage am 7. Dezember 2018 – Ausstellung ist täglich geöffnet, 12–20 Uhr – bis 16. Dezember 2018

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich: