The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Gestures in Practice

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Over five days of intensive workshop residency held at Lake Studios in Berlin, the group continued to exchange ideas towards the exhibition and symposium to be held in December at Künstlerhaus Bethanien.

Economies of Gesture

The working group, consisting of Florian Bettel, Irina Kaldrack and Tobias Schulze, explores contemporary economies of gestures. In Berlin, the group started from an in-depth research on musical.ly to discuss issues of communication, forms of courtesy, agonal constellations, and adjustment of bodily movement. The connecting element of these topics was the integral use of technology as well as technology’s interdependency with economy and work.

Gesture & Labour

The members of the workgroup exchanged material and focused on notions of efficiency in the context of manual and automated production environments. The term “lost motion”, as coined by Frank Gilbreth in his early 20th century work, especially caught their attention. Florian Bettel drew connections to game theory while Konrad Strutz presented a draft for a video work that deals with gestures derived from industrial contexts and subsequently applied towards non-productive purposes.

Surveillance and Gesture

As a first draft the group members shot videos of themselves performing a variety of gaits in front of a grid similar to those used in chronophotography. Through this practice specific questions arose within the group about political and social aspects of the basic premise of their proposal, i.e. using alterations of movements to evade surveillance systems and of embodying “the animal” as a means for freedom of movement and what that may imply in the racialization of immigration politics.

Social Choreography

Timo Herbst and Laurie Young´s starting point were to develop a social choreography score for the public space in and around the area of Kunstquartier Bethanian, which would highlight and reveal the hidden choreographic cues of city spaces and how bodies are demanded to obey them. Upon visiting the exhibition space, Laurie Young realized that Bethanien´s building is not fully accessible to wheelchair users. After being informed by the caretaker that there are no wheelchair-ramps available in the house to cover the first four steps of Studio1, Young and Herbst decided to address this problem by providing ramps for these stairs. This idea developed into creating a series of ramps as a re-occuring theme throughout the exhibition space as choreographic objects with which to activate the visitors body.

Transforming Political Gestures

The working group of Irina Kaldrack, Dina Boswank and Timo Herbst continued to develop their performative installation „Transforming political gestures through a chain“ which deals with gestures and actions during protests at the G20 in Hamburg. A first version was presented in November 2017 as a lecture performance during a conference at the University Potsdam and a second will be held in October 2018 in Kunstverein, Leipzig. The work will be further developed as a performative installation. Handling and manipulating the material, a space of thought and experience emerges that questions the status of „political gesture“. To this end the group continued to modify and specify their approach.

Timo Herbst edited a second film based on the observations the group made on what actions and gestures of different agendas had and what order they impose in the public space.

Irina Kaldrack deepened her investigation of what „political“ means in „poltical“ gesture. With a comparison of the readings of Oliver Marchart and André Lepecki, Timo Herbst and Irina Kaldrack began developing a textual dramaturgy.Dina Boswank worked on interviews about descriptions of press photos of the G20.

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

From April 24 to 28, 2017, the project participants met for the first workshop in Braunschweig. During several days of intensive collaboration, we presented our materials and methods, as well as preliminary research results, identified common interests on the basis of selected case studies and tested various methods to acquaint ourselves with them analytically.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage December 7th, 7.30 pm. Symposium December 8th, 10 am–7 pm.

The exhibition and the international symposium are the finale of a two-year interdisciplinary research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between gestures and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

Exhibition: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage 7 Dec 2018 – open daily 12 am – 8 pm– until 16 Dec 2018

A warm welcome to our exhibition „Throwing Gestures“ in Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Gestures in Practice

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

An fünf Tagen Intensivworkshop, verbunden mit einer Residency in den Lake Studios in Berlin, hat die Gruppe weiter am Ideenaustausch zur Ausstellung und zum Symposium im Dezember im Berliner Kunstquartier Bethanien gearbeitet.

Economies of Gesture

Florian Bettel, Irina Kaldrack und Tobias Schulze erkunden als Arbeitsgruppe zeitgenössische Ökonomien der Geste. In Berlin startete die Gruppe mit einer weiterführenden Recherche zu musical.ly und diskutierte Fragen der Kommunikation, Etikette, agonaler Konstellationen und der Adaptation von Körperbewegungen. Das verbindende Element dieser Themen war der integrale Gebrauch von Technologie sowie die technologischen Interdependenzen mit Ökonomie und Arbeit.

Gesture & Labour

Die Gruppenmitglieder tauschten Materialsammlungen aus und konzentrierten sich auf Formen der Effizienz im Kontext von Handarbeit und automatisierten Produktionsumgebungen. Der Terminus „Lost Motion“, von Frank Gilbreth in seiner Arbeit aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert formuliert, zog das besondere Interesse der Gruppe auf sich. Florian Bettel zog Verbindungen zur Spieltheorie, während Konrad Strutz eine Skizze für eine Videoarbeit zu Gesten präsentierte, die aus industriellen Kontexten stammen und anschließend für nicht-produktive Zwecke eingesetzt werden.

Surveillance and Gesture

Als ersten Aufschlag haben Laurie Young und Konrad Strutz Videoaufnahmen von sich selbst produziert, bei denen sie eine Variation von „Gangarten“ vor einem Raster aufgeführt haben, das in ähnlicher Form in der Chronophotographie eingesetzt wurde. Aus diesem Prozess entwickelten sich spezifische Fragen in der Gruppe zu politischen und sozialen Aspekten ihres Grundkonzepts – nämlich Bewegungen so zu verändern, dass sie Überwachungskontexten entgehen und „Tiere“ als Mittel für Bewegungsfreiheit zu verkörpern –, u.a. was das im Kontext der Rassifizierung von Immigrationspolitik implizieren mag.

Social Choreography

Der Ausgangspunkt von Timo Herbst und Laurie Young war es, eine soziale Choreographie für den öffentlichen Raum in und um das Gebiet des Kunstquartier Bethanien zu entwickeln, die die verborgenen choreographischen Trigger von Stadträumen exponiert und zeigt, wie Körper zum Gehorsam aufgefordert werden. Beim Besuch des Ausstellungsraums realisierte Laurie Young, dass das Gebäude des Bethanien nicht umfänglich für Rollstuhlfahrer zugänglich ist. Nachdem der Hausmeister sie informiert hatte, dass es keine Rollstuhlrampen im Haus für die ersten Stufen zum Studio 1 gibt, entschieden Young und Herbst sich, dieses Problem zu adressieren, indem sie Rampen bereitstellen. Diese Idee entwickelte sich dazu weiter, Rampen als wiederkehrendes Thema im Ausstellungsraum als choreographische Objekte zu installieren, durch die die Körper der Besucher*innen aktiviert werden sollen.

Transforming Political Gestures

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst und Irina Kaldrack entwickelten ihre performative Installation „Transforming political gestures through a chain“ weiter, die sich mit Gesten und Handlungen während der Proteste und Aufstände gegen G20 in Hamburg beschäftigt. Eine erste Version wurde 2017 als Lecture Performance auf einer Konferenz an der Uni Potsdam präsentiert und eine zweite wird im Oktober 2018 im Kunstverein Leipzig gezeigt werden. Dafür wird die Arbeit als performative Installation weiterentwickelt. Im Umgang mit dem Material entsteht ein Denk- und Erfahrungsraum, der den Stellenwert von “politischer Geste” befragt

Timo Herbst editierte einen zweiten Film auf der Basis von Beobachtungen der Gruppe dazu, welche unterschiedlichen Agenden Handlungen und Gesten haben und welche Ordnungen sie im öffentlichen Raum etablieren.

Mit einem Vergleich der Lektüre von Oliver Marchart und André Lepecki begannen Timo Herbst und Irina Kaldrack eine textliche Dramaturgie zu entwickeln.

Dina Boswank arbeitete zu Interviews über Beschreibungen von Pressefotos zu G20.

Das Projekt

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien.

(Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Mehr

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Vom 4. bis 10. September 2018 treffen wir uns zum vierten und letzten Workshop im Kunstquartier Bethanien. Wir arbeiten intensiv an unseren kollektiven und individuellen Installationen für die Ausstellung im Dezember.

Symposium

Zum Abschluss des Projekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media, and Politics“ veranstalten wir Ende 2018 ein Symposium in Berlin. Wir werden
unsere Methoden, Arbeitsprozesse und Ergebnisse einer größeren Öffentlichkeit vorstellen. Installativ, diskursiv und interventionistisch – Updates folgen.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Timo Herbst: Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“

In seiner Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“ im „jungen museum Bottrop“ zeigt Timo Herbst eine Auswahl von Zeichnungen und Videos, die sich mit Bewegungen und Gesten im Privaten und Gruppenformationen im öffentlichen Raum beschäftigen.

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich: