The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop II / Hallein
Gesture
Transition
Nongesture

Politics of Gestures-Lab

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

The project formed part of the Schmiede Festival as a “Politics of Gestures” lab and offered approximately 200 international participants the opportunity to get involved in the research process. A corresponding format was provided in the lectures and workshops featuring two guests: Antje Vowinckel (Berlin-based sound artist and radio dramatist) with “Melody minus One”, and Stefan Krebs (technology historian, University of Luxembourg) with “Experimental Media Archeology and the Politics of Kunstkopf Stereophony”. In addition, an on-site collaboration emerged with artist and director Lucie Strecker (“Modeling the Immune System with Gestures”), as well as an active exchange on political gestures with cultural manager and director Anwar Akhtar and a reflection on technology and content with media artist and programmer Mark Coniglio.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Timo Herbst presented his work “Play by rules (Hamburg)”, which is based on the demonstrations and riots surrounding the G20 summit in July 2017. The video installation focuses on the ubiquitous Internet-capable image and sound recording devices used by protesters and news reporters to document events and, in some cases, distribute them in real time.

View of installation “Play by rules (Hamburg)”, 4-channel HD video, 7 mins, 2017, photo: Timo Herbst

Laurie Young provided project participants with insights into her working method, which she had been able to develop further since the workshop in Braunschweig. In the meantime, the choreographer had collaborated with Canadian dancer Justine Chambers on her method of the sequential analysis of protest gestures. Due to autobiographical moments associated with these gestures, Young described the process as a particularly intense experience. Konrad Strutz presented his artistic engagement with photographic images beyond ordinary spatial representations, emphasizing the element of time that these imaging processes require and erecting a personally-designed machine. Tobias Schulze placed his research on the social media app “musical.ly” at our disposal and presented his reflections on the connection between technology, gestures and the use of gestures in popular culture.

Cross-section of (reinterpreted) gestures and movements in musical.ly. Photo: Torsten Schmitt Photography | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

In order to collaboratively develop the submitted works in smaller groups, project participants resorted to the “transformation chains” framework, which combines artistic working methods with playful approaches (such as “Cadavre Exquis”). Dina Boswank put a drawing by Herbst, in which he recorded sequences of a gesture, into writing. Boswank initially worked descriptively. However, the great experimental scope of the linguistic images evoked was conclusively revealed during the performative re-translation into body movements.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Florian Bettel also experimented with a different manner of translation between various notations, transforming Boswank’s text into drawings using the Google Image Search algorithm. Bettel emphasized the importance of the context of these images, as individual images were barely legible. The issue of context and attribution of meaning was highlighted by Bettel in a series of images with various captions.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Working together and experimenting with Kinect hardware, Strutz and Young developed the concept of a choreography designed to make it possible to circumvent surveillance systems (e.g., at state borders) by adapting a person’s movement patterns.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Based on “Play by Rules”, Irina Kaldrack questioned the relationship between the political, the gesture and the media. The raw version of the installation and lecture performance “Transforming Political Gestures Through a Chain” was created: A video and interactive sound installation (Herbst) intermeshed with descriptions of gestures (Boswank) and a performative lecture (Kaldrack). In early November, they presented these works at the international conference “Affective Transformations”.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Performance as part of the presentation “Transforming Political Gestures Through a Chain”. Photo: Timo Herbst

On a theoretical level, project participants committed themselves to researching further artistic references and the fundamentals of classification of these examples. The project also highlighted the use of protest movements and gestures in popular culture (including music videos). The plenary group discussion also brought up the “game” theme, contextualized within the cultural theory perspective of Johan Huizinga and Roger Caillois, and developed for further interconnections with individual works. The continuous theoretical reflection and the relation to current discourses form the basis for the development of new perspectives on the object under investigation, the “gesture”, as well as for preparing the symposium and publication which are to conclusively bundle all results.

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

From April 24 to 28, 2017, the project participants met for the first workshop in Braunschweig. During several days of intensive collaboration, we presented our materials and methods, as well as preliminary research results, identified common interests on the basis of selected case studies and tested various methods to acquaint ourselves with them analytically.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage December 7th, 7.30 pm. Symposium December 8th, 10 am–7 pm.

The exhibition and the international symposium are the finale of a two-year interdisciplinary research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between gestures and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

Exhibition: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage 7 Dec 2018 – open daily 12 am – 8 pm– until 16 Dec 2018

A warm welcome to our exhibition „Throwing Gestures“ in Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Workshop II / Hallein
Gesture
Transition
Nongesture

Politics of Gestures-Lab

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Das Projekt war als „Politics of Gestures“-Lab Teil des Schmiede Festivals und bot den rund zweihundert internationalen Teilnehmer/innen die Möglichkeit, sich in den Forschungsprozess einzubringen. Ein entsprechendes Format stellten die Vorträge und Workshops mit den beiden Gästen Antje Vowinckel (Feature- und Hörspielautorin, Berlin), „Melody minus One“ und Stefan Krebs (Technikhistoriker, Universität Luxemburg), „Experimental Media Archaeology and the Politics of Kunstkopf Stereophony“, dar. Zudem entstand eine Zusammenarbeit vor Ort mit der Künstlerin und Regisseurin Lucie Strecker („Modeling the Immune System with Gestures“) sowie aktiver Austausch über politische Gesten mit dem Kulturmanager und Intendanten Anwar Akhtar und technische und inhaltliche Reflektion mit dem Medienkünstler und Programmierer Mark Coniglio.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Timo Herbst zeigte seine Arbeit „Play by rules (Hamburg)“, die auf den Demonstrationen und Ausschreitungen im Umfeld des G20-Gipfels im Juli 2017 basiert. Im Fokus der Videoinstallation stehen die allgegenwärtigen internetfähigen Bild- und Tonaufnahmegeräte, die Demonstrant/innen und Berichterstatter der Nachrichten nutzten, um Geschehnisse zu dokumentieren und teilweise in Echtzeit zu verbreiten.

Installationsansicht „Play by rules (Hamburg)“, 4-Kanal-HD-Video, 7 min., 2017, Foto: Timo Herbst

Laurie Young gab den Projektteilnehmer/innen Einblick in ihre Arbeitsmethode, die sie seit Braunschweig hatte weiterentwickeln können. Die Choreographin hatte inzwischen gemeinsam mit der kanadischen Tänzerin Justine Chambers an ihrer Methode der sequentiellen Analyse von Protestgesten gearbeitet. Bedingt durch autobiografische Momente, die mit diesen Gesten verknüpft waren, beschrieb Young den Prozess als besonders intensive Erfahrung. Konrad Strutz stellte seine künstlerische Beschäftigung mit fotografischen Abbildungen abseits gewöhnlicher Raumdarstellung vor, betonte das Element Zeit, das diese Abbildungsvorgänge benötigen und baute eine eigens konstruierte Maschine im Raum auf. Tobias Schulze machte seine Recherche zur Social Media-App „musical.ly“ zugänglich und stellte seine Überlegungen zum Zusammenhang von Technik, Geste und Verwendung von Gesten in der Populärkultur vor.

Materialsichtung und Diskussion: Gesten bei musical.ly. Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Zur kollaborativen Weiterentwicklung der eingebrachten Arbeiten in kleineren Gruppen, griffen die Projektteilnehmer/innen auf das Framework der „Transformation Chains“ zurück, die künstlerische Arbeitsweisen mit spielerischen Zugängen (u.a. „Cadavre Exquis“) vereinen kann. Dina Boswank verschriftlichte eine Zeichnung Herbsts, in der er Sequenzen einer Geste festhielt. Boswank arbeitete zunächst deskriptiv, die evozierten sprachlichen Bilder offenbarten aber spätestens durch die performative Rückübersetzung in Körperbewegungen ihren großen experimentellen Spielraum.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Mit einer weiteren Spielart der Übersetzung zwischen unterschiedlichen Notationen experimentierte Florian Bettel, der Boswanks Text mithilfe des Google Bildersuche-Algorithmus in Zeichnungen überführte. Bettel hob dabei die Bedeutung des Kontextes dieser Bilder hervor, da Einzelbilder kaum lesbar waren. Die Frage nach dem Kontext und der Zuschreibung von Bedeutung spitzte er mit einer Serie von Bildern mit unterschiedlichen Bildunterschriften weiter zu.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

In gemeinsamer Arbeit und durch das Experimentieren mit Kinect-Hardware entwickelten Strutz und Young das Konzept einer Choreographie, welche es ermöglichen soll, Überwachungssysteme (z.B. an Staatsgrenzen) durch die Anpassung der Bewegungsmuster einer Person zu unterlaufen.

Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

Ausgehend von „Play by Rules“ befragte Irina Kaldrack das Verhältnis von dem Politischen, Geste und Medien. Es entstand die Rohfassung der Installation und Lecture Performance „Transforming Political Gestures Through a Chain“: Video- und interaktive Soundinstallation (Herbst) verzahnen sich mit den Beschreibungen von Gesten (Boswank) und einem performativen Vortrag (Kaldrack). Anfang November zeigten sie diese auf internationalen Tagung „Affective Transformations“.

Verschriftlichung von Gesten (Dina Boswank). Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de
Performanz im Rahmen der Präsentation „Transforming Political Gestures through a chain“. Foto: Timo Herbst

Auf theoretischer Ebene widmeten sich die Projektteilnehmer/innen der Recherche weiterer künstlerischer Referenzen und den Grundzügen einer Klassifikation dieser Beispiele. Zudem wurde die Verwendung von Protestbewegungen und -gesten in der Populärkultur (u.a. Musikvideos) beleuchtet. Die gemeinsame Auseinandersetzung in der Gruppe brachte außerdem das Thema „Spiel“ auf, das aus kulturtheoretischer Perspektive mit Johan Huizinga und Roger Caillois eingeordnet und für weitere Anknüpfungspunkte zwischen den einzelnen Arbeiten aufbereitet wurde. Die fortlaufende theoretische Reflexion und die Anknüpfung an aktuelle Diskurse sind Grundlage zur Erarbeitung neuer Perspektiven auf den Untersuchungsgegenstand „Geste“ sowie zur Vorbereitung auf das Symposium und die Publikation, die alle Ergebnisse abschließend bündeln sollen.

Das Projekt

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien.

(Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Mehr

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

Symposium

Zum Abschluss des Projekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media, and Politics“ veranstalten wir Ende 2018 ein Symposium in Berlin. Wir werden
unsere Methoden, Arbeitsprozesse und Ergebnisse einer größeren Öffentlichkeit vorstellen. Installativ, diskursiv und interventionistisch – Updates folgen.

News

Timo Herbst: Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“

In seiner Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“ im „jungen museum Bottrop“ zeigt Timo Herbst eine Auswahl von Zeichnungen und Videos, die sich mit Bewegungen und Gesten im Privaten und Gruppenformationen im öffentlichen Raum beschäftigen.

Präsentation auf einem Workshop der VW-Stiftung

Präsentation des Projekts “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media, and Politics” auf dem zweiten Workshop des Programms “Arts and Science in Motion – Wissenschaft und Kunst in Bewegung” der VW-Stiftung vom 10.–12. November 2017 im Märkischen Gildehaus in Caputh, Deutschland.

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich: