The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
The Team

The Team

Florian Bettel (Dr. Phil.)
Senior Scientist
University of applied Arts, Vienna
His work focuses on aspects of the history of technology, cultures of dwelling, sepulchral culture, as well as artistic and curatorial activities. Link
Dina Boswank
Artist, lives and works in Berlin
She wanders through practices of creative access to technology and its defining media cultures both by researching and reenacting them. Link
Timo Herbst
Artist, lives and works in Leipzig
In his researches he cooperated with the Overseas Museum of Bremen, Museum of Natural History in Leipzig and the Egyptian Collection Georg Steindorff in Leipzig and has shown his work in several museums and galleries in and outside of Germany. Link
Irina Kaldrack
Guest Professor for „Knowledge Cultures in the Digital Age“ at Braunschweig University of Art
Her research focuses on the theory and history of digital media cultures, knowledge cultures under technological conditions, the media and scientific history of motion, as well as methods of media studies at the interrelation between design processes, artistic practice and academic research. Link
Stefanie Kiwi Menrath
Ethnographer and Cultural Scientist, University Hildesheim
After studies of ethnography in Heidelberg and Cologne she is an active member of femalehiphop.net, Ladyfest Berlin und moving records Heidelberg/Berlin. Link
Tobias Schulze
Project assistant, Braunschweig University of Art
He is in the master programme communication and media science at Humboldt-University Berlin, his BA in music and media studies is a historical study of audio recordings by Bessarabia Germans at Berliner Lautarchiv. Link
Konrad Strutz
Artist and Senior Lecturer, University of Applied Arts Vienna
Researching and inventing different modes of perception and representations of space are central topics throughout his work, which has an emphasis on sculpture and photography. Link
Laurie Young
Choreographer and Dancer, lives and works in Berlin
She is interested in the embodiment of unauthorized histories and their representation. Her work is made for the theater, natural history museums and site-specific installations. Link

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

From April 24 to 28, 2017, the project participants met for the first workshop in Braunschweig. During several days of intensive collaboration, we presented our materials and methods, as well as preliminary research results, identified common interests on the basis of selected case studies and tested various methods to acquaint ourselves with them analytically.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage December 7th, 7.30 pm. Symposium December 8th, 10 am–7 pm.

The exhibition and the international symposium are the finale of a two-year interdisciplinary research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between gestures and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

Exhibition: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage 7 Dec 2018 – open daily 12 am – 8 pm– until 16 Dec 2018

A warm welcome to our exhibition „Throwing Gestures“ in Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Das Team

Das Team

Florian Bettel (Dr. Phil.)
Senior Scientist
Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Themen der Technikgeschichte, Kultur(en) des Wohnens, Sepulkralkultur sowie künstlerische und kuratorische Tätigkeiten. Link
Dina Boswank
Künstlerin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin
Sie bewegt sich durch kreative Praktiken technologischer Zugänge und ihren Medienkulturen – durch Beobachtung und Beschreibung und durch ihr Reenactment. Link
Timo Herbst
Künstler, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig
Er war Stipendiat der Goethe Instituts Villa Kamogawa Japan, Art Quarter Budapest, Ungarn und Yarat Contempoarary Art Centers Baku, Azerbaidschan. Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit sind alltägliche und politische Choreographien, deren Zusammenhänge er mit Video, Performance und Zeichnung bearbeitet. Link
Irina Kaldrack
Verwalterin d. Prof. „Wissenskulturen im dig. Zeitalter“, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig
Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen Theorie und Geschichte digitaler Medienkulturen, Wissenskulturen unter technologischen Bedingungen, Medien- und Wissensgeschichte menschlicher Körperbewegung sowie Methoden der Medienwissenschaft an der Schnittstelle von Gestaltungsprozessen, künstlerischer Praxis und medienwissenschaftlicher Forschung. Link
Stefanie Kiwi Menrath
Ethnographin und Kulturvermittlerin, Universität Hildesheim
Studium der Ethnologie in Heidelberg und Köln. Feldforschungen zu Pop- und Musikkulturen und über Künstler*innen in sozialen Räumen. Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ begleitet sie als Prozessbeobachterin und Ethnographin. Link
Tobias Schulze
Projektassistent, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig
Er ist Masterstudent der Medienwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, seinen BA schloss er in Musikwissenschaft und Medienwissenschaft mit einer Forschungsarbeit über historische Tonaufnahmen aus dem Berliner Lautarchiv von Bessarabien-Deutschen ab. Link
Konrad Strutz
Künstler und Lehrender, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Der Erforschung unterschiedlicher Wahrnehmungsmodi und alternativer räumlicher Darstellungsformen kommt zentrale Bedeutung in seiner Arbeit zu, welche vorrangig als Skulptur oder Fotografie ausgeführt ist. Link
Laurie Young
Choreografin und Tänzerin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin
Ihr Interesse gilt der Verkörperung inoffizieller Geschichtsschreibung und ihrer Repräsentation. Ihre Arbeit entfaltet sich im Theater, Naturkundenmuseen und standortspezifischen Installationen. Link

Das Projekt

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien.

(Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Mehr

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Vom 4. bis 10. September 2018 trafen wir uns zum vierten und letzten Workshop im Kunstquartier Bethanien. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an unseren kollektiven und individuellen Installationen für die Ausstellung im Dezember.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage 7. Dezember 2018, 19.30 Uhr. Symposium 8. Dezember 2018, 10–19 Uhr.
Zusammen mit der Ausstellung bildet das Symposium den Abschluss des interdisziplinären Forschungsprojektes, das nach den Verhältnissen zwischen Gesten und global vernetzten ubiquitären Technologien fragt.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Timo Herbst: Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“

In seiner Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“ im „jungen museum Bottrop“ zeigt Timo Herbst eine Auswahl von Zeichnungen und Videos, die sich mit Bewegungen und Gesten im Privaten und Gruppenformationen im öffentlichen Raum beschäftigen.

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich: