The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
The Project

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies. To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear. These processes will be theorized and become tangible through an emphasis on the following two research questions:

Photo: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

 

1. Im/Perceptible Gesture. What is the transition point, the moment, when a movement is recognized as a gesture within a respective entanglement of sensory input and media technology? We explore the measurement of movements while handling technology, asking how it eventually is a mediated representation in itself.

2. Political Gesture. How do inter-subjectively comprehensible gestures become powerful conveyors of political concerns? Political gestures relate to a certain context or situation. They are not political by themselves; these gestures have to be mediated to gain meaning and significance.

Scientists and artists are working together over the course of two years, participating in three international workshops where they bring together various fields of research and diverse artistic media such as: Sound, performance art, and visual art, as well as media studies, dance science, history of technology, and social sciences.

Photo: Tobias Schulze, tjschulze.de
Photo: Tobias Schulze, tjschulze.de

 

Besides fundamental research, working with exemplary gestures and movements will also take place as part of the workshops. To enable and support the interdisciplinary approach, a special framework was designed: Through so called transformation chains, individual research work and the participants’ respective methodologies are connected within a performative space. The individual material will literally be transformed by approaching it from different perspectives, making a net of representations and shared experiences visible and generating knowledge on the basis of this synthesis.

During a final symposium in Berlin (End of 2018) the results as well as the process itself will be presented to a wider public.

Photo: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

 

The project is hosted by the Braunschweig University of Art; funded by Volkswagen Foundation within the framework of the Arts&Science in Motion program; supported by University of Applied Arts Vienna.

The Project

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics is a research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between bodily movements or gestures, and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

To display and displaying oneself gains greater significance within the context of the unrestricted and instantaneous global exchange of video material as well as in an everyday world increasingly defined by sensors and computers. Thus the meaning of presence and publicness changes, evolves and new forms appear.

More

Projects

Workshop I / Braunschweig

From April 24 to 28, 2017, the project participants met for the first workshop in Braunschweig. During several days of intensive collaboration, we presented our materials and methods, as well as preliminary research results, identified common interests on the basis of selected case studies and tested various methods to acquaint ourselves with them analytically.

Workshop II / Hallein

The international art and design festival “Schmiede Hallein” was the setting for the second workshop of the research project “The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics”, held from September 20 to 30, 2017. In one section of the extensive grounds of the former salt refinery, the project team created a space for experiments involving physical gestures, technology and spatial installations.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

The third workshop took place at Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick from May 15–19. Our task was to work intensively on installations, lecture performances and choreographies. Eventually, we concentrated on consolidations and aesthetic shapings after having explored and experimented on our focus topics and case scenarios in previous working phases.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

From September 4 to 10, 2018 we met for the fourth and last workshop at the Art Quarter Bethanien (Kunstquartier Bethanien). We worked intensively on our collective and individual installations for the exhibition in December.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage December 7th, 7.30 pm. Symposium December 8th, 10 am–7 pm.

The exhibition and the international symposium are the finale of a two-year interdisciplinary research project investigating the interdependencies that exist between gestures and ubiquitous, globally networked technologies.

Exhibition: Throwing Gestures

Vernissage 7 Dec 2018 – open daily 12 am – 8 pm– until 16 Dec 2018

A warm welcome to our exhibition „Throwing Gestures“ in Studio 1, Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Partner/Cooperation

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich:

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics

DE ENG
The
Entanglement
between
Gesture, Media &
Politics
Das Projekt

Das Projekt

The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien. (Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Zum Ende des 1. Workshop lud das Projekt zum Open Studio an der HBK ein. Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

 

1. „Un/Wahrnehmbare Geste“ fragt, wie Bewegung zu Geste wird. (Wie) Entstehen in der Verschränkung von Erkennungstechnologie, Sinneswahrnehmung und Bewegungspraktiken (neue) Gesten? Gab es diese Genese von Gesten schon in historischen Konstellationen von Technologie, Wahrnehmung und Praktiken? Und inwieweit hat sich der Entstehungsprozess verändert?

2. Der Schwerpunkt „Politische Geste“ untersucht Gesten, die zu machtvollen Signifikanten politischer Anliegen wurden. Gefragt wird, wie diese Gesten ihre spezifische Bedeutung und Signifikanz erlangen, wie sie sich auf politische und soziale Kontexte beziehen und wie sie diese (um)strukturieren?

In drei Workshops in Deutschland und Österreich arbeiten KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen aus verschiedenen Bereichen über zwei Jahre hinweg zusammen: Sound, Performance Art und visuelle Kunst treffen auf Medien- und Tanzwissenschaften, Technikgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaft.

Eindrücke aus dem ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. Foto: Tobias Schulze, tjschulze.de
Arbeit mit und an Gesten während des zweiten Workshops in Hallein, Österreich. Foto: Tobias Schulze, tjschulze.de

 

In den Workshops erforschen wir gemeinsam exemplarischen Gesten und Konstellationen. Für die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit entwickeln wir ein Framework, das es erlaubt, die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und disziplinären Methoden in produktive Spannung zueinander zu setzen. In von uns so benannten „Transformation Chains“ verbinden wir Objekte und Perspektiven aus der individuellen Forschungsarbeit in räumlichen und performativen Konstellationen. Wir transformieren das Material, in dem wir es mit den je unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und Methoden ver- und behandeln. So soll ein Netz von Sichtbarkeiten, Praktiken und Erfahrungen entstehen, in dem sich (neues) Wissen um das Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics formiert.

In einem abschließenden Symposium in Berlin (Ende 2018) stellen wir Prozesse, Methoden und Ergebnisse einer größeren Öffentlichkeit vor.

Fragen zu Verwicklungen von Gesten, Medien und dem Politischen. Foto: Torsten Schmitt Fotografie | Berlin | www.fotosch.de

 

Durchgeführt an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig; gefördert durch die Volkswagen-Stiftung im Rahmen des Programms Arts & Science in Motion; unterstützt von der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien.

Das Projekt

Das Projekt „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ untersucht die Verschränkungen körperlicher Gesten mit zeitgenössischen ubiquitären und global vernetzten Medientechnologien.

(Sich) Zu zeigen erhält einen neuen Stellenwert, sowohl in global zirkulierenden Bewegtbild-Medien als auch in zunehmend von Sensoren und Prozessoren durchzogenen Alltagswelten. Dabei ändern sich Präsenz und Öffentlichkeit, so die Annahme des Projekts. Es gilt zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche Formen von Gegenwärtigkeit und Öffentlichkeit verfasst sind und wie sie entstehen. Die Arbeit an zwei Schwerpunktthemen soll diese Prozesse erfahrbar machen und die Reflexion ermöglichen.

Mehr

Projekte

Workshop I / Braunschweig

Vom 24. bis zum 28. April 2017 trafen sich die ProjektteilnehmerInnen zum ersten Workshop in Braunschweig. In intensiven Arbeitstagen stellten wir einander unsere Materialien und Methoden vor, zeigten Zwischenergebnisse von Recherchen, wir orteten gemeinsame Interessen an ausgewählten Fallbeispielen und erprobten unterschiedliche Methoden, um sich diesen analytisch anzunähern.

Workshop II / Hallein

Das internationale Kunst- und Design-Festival „Schmiede Hallein“ war der Rahmen für den zweiten Workshop des Forschungsprojekts „The Entanglement between Gesture, Media and Politics“ vom 20. bis 30. September 2017. Auf einem Teil des weitläufigen Areals einer ehemaligen Saline konnte das Projektteam einen Ort schaffen, der Experimente mit körperlichen Gesten, mit Technik und räumlichen Installationen ermöglichte.

Workshop III / Berlin-Köpenick

Der dritte Projekt-Workshop fand vom 15. bis 19. Mai in den Lake Studios, Berlin Köpenick, statt. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an Installationen, Lecture Performances und Choreografien. Nach den Phasen von Exploration und Experimenten zu unseren Schwerpunktthemen und Fallstudien konzentrierten wir uns nun auf deren Verdichtung und ästhetische Formen.

Workshop IV / Berlin-Kreuzberg

Vom 4. bis 10. September 2018 trafen wir uns zum vierten und letzten Workshop im Kunstquartier Bethanien. Wir arbeiteten intensiv an unseren kollektiven und individuellen Installationen für die Ausstellung im Dezember.

Symposium: Throwing Gestures

Kunstquartier Bethanien, Studio 1, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin. Vernissage 7. Dezember 2018, 19.30 Uhr. Symposium 8. Dezember 2018, 10–19 Uhr.
Zusammen mit der Ausstellung bildet das Symposium den Abschluss des interdisziplinären Forschungsprojektes, das nach den Verhältnissen zwischen Gesten und global vernetzten ubiquitären Technologien fragt.

News

G20

Dina Boswank, Timo Herbst, Irina Kaldrack, Silas Mücke, Marcus Nebe

Timo Herbst: Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“

In seiner Einzelausstellung „Optical Flow“ im „jungen museum Bottrop“ zeigt Timo Herbst eine Auswahl von Zeichnungen und Videos, die sich mit Bewegungen und Gesten im Privaten und Gruppenformationen im öffentlichen Raum beschäftigen.

Partner/Kooperationen

Das Projekt The Entanglement between Gesture, Media & Politics wurde durch die Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern möglich: